The Best Resources to Learn C# for Beginners

The Best Resources to Learn C# for Beginners

Hi lovely readers,

When I started getting into C#, I was in my first year of university. It was the first language I got comfortable with. My classes were alright, but it wasn’t enough for me to get a full grasp of the language. So I started looking for extra resources to be able to pass my exams.

Of course, not everybody goes to university or learns C# there. The resources can be very hidden because it gets overshadowed online by JavaScript or Python. This is why I decided to share what helped me when I got started.

Are you wondering why you should try to learn C#? I wrote a blog post about it in the past. Check out ‘Why you should learn C#’.

Interactive Courses

Do you prefer courses that you can just follow and code along with? This part is in this case for you.

Microsoft Learn

C# is developed by Microsoft. This also means it has courses on Microsoft’s learning platform, Microsoft Learn. There are tons of videos from beginner level to intermediate that you can watch for free. You can find those videos right here. Microsoft also has a 'get started with C#' page on the .NET website which has tools, tips, and extra resources which you can find right here.

Udemy Courses

Udemy, the place where everybody goes to buy courses. Of course, there is some good stuff on this platform too about C#.

A course that really helped me out when I got started was C# Basics for Beginners by Mosh Hamedani. Mosh is an amazing teacher that puts time into explaining beginner topics clearly while also giving you tips on what not to do.

Looking for a course that explains how to work with different kinds of applications, databases, and lambda expressions? Check out the Complete C# Masterclass by Denis Panjuta.

Exercism Course

Are you more the type of course that lets you learn concepts step by step? Starting with hello world, going to if-else statements, and then end up at nested types and method overloaders? And do you like the idea of challenges and getting feedback while doing so?

Check out the Exercism C# course. Solve challenges and a mentor will look at your code and suggests way to do it better.

YouTube Channels

There is quite a list of YouTube channels that you can refer to if you want to learn how C# works. Here are some excellent channels I would recommend for beginners:

Good old books

Are you a bit more old-school? Me too, don’t worry. I like to read books, analyze it, and take my time if I need to.

Yellow Book

Cover of the C# Programming Yellow Book

In university, I got recommended 'The C# Programming Yellow Book' by Rob Miles for my classes. It was at that point already a bit outdated but if you want to learn the basics, it’s good enough. You can download it for free.

Head First C Sharp

Cover of the Head First C# book

A book that I can really recommend is 'Head First C#'. It explains C# clearly and it really helped me when I just got started. It’s from O’Reilly. You can find it on their website.

That’s a wrap!

Thank you for reading. I hope this can help you in your (future) career as a .NET or C# developer. If you have any suggestions or tips, feel free to leave a comment or contact me on Twitter at @lovelacecoding. See you later!